HSS Challenge – Ribbon & Lace

These cards were created for another HSS Challenge (Hand Stamped Sentiments). Theme:  Ribbon and Lace.  Stampin’Up! has beautiful ribbons.  I had heard that the Seam Binding ribbons were hard to work with — but! to my surprise this was not the case.  The Seam Binding ribbons are so beautiful, so soft & sweet, and great to work with.  I know I’ll be getting more.

All day long, I just could not get started in creating my card for this challenge.   I only needed to create one card — but thanks to Colin Firth aka Mr. Darcy of “Pride and Prejudice”, I got my inspiration.    I thought of Miss Elizabeth Bennett and Mr. Darcy at the Netherfield Ball which was hosted by Mr. Bingly at his summer home/mansion.   And all the beautiful lace and ribbon on the gowns worn by all the ladies.  Anyway, I got carried away again and just couldn’t stop creating. Thanks to my friend Amy Lazzell, who let me use her new stamp set “Baby Blossoms”, I created the first two cards.   The first “blue” card reminds me of Mr. Darcy (his soft side and adoration for Miss Bennett).  And the second, of course, of Miss Elizabeth Bennett.  So here are my cards.  I hope you like them.

Click to Enlarge

Click to Enlarge

Click to Enlarge

The last card is just a 3×3 note card that was actually created from scraps.  The rainbow textured portion was a small scrap from a previous card as well as the ribbons – these were scraps.  Colors of inks are:  Old Olive, Melon Mambo and Pacific Point.  The seam binding ribbons are:  Rose Red, Pear Pizzazz and Baja Breeze.  I just used daubers with same ink colors and sponged diagonal lines of color for a background and stamped the wording.

13 Responses

  1. Lovely cards, partial to the embossed and inked card, that is so pretty with the different colors, but really all are gorgeous so who am I kidding. 🙂 Your work is amazing.

  2. Minnie, these are all so pretty. I really like how you tied the knots on the ribbon in the last card. That is a great idea.

  3. Hi Minnie, I love all of your cards this week. My favorite is the pink Baby Blossoms card. Just beautiful!

  4. Wow! You were on a creative roll. Three cards and they’re all so different in style. Love how you used your ribbon scaps and the two-step roses for the Baby Blossoms stamp set are beautiful! You definitely need to tell me how you did the rainbow background on the 3×3 Thanks so much card.

  5. Minnie, these are all fabulous! I love all of your detailed cutting on the first two…wow, it is perfect! I really like all of the texture, the seam binding and the lace trim. The third card with the rainbow background is too cool. I think you need to make a tutorial for that one! *wink* I really want to try that out. 🙂

  6. Love that middle card! So feminine looking.

    Robbie

  7. These are all so very pretty! But my favorite is the second one!! Roses and lace are always a great combo!

  8. Such sweet cards, Minnie! Love the middle card, too! So pretty! 😉

Leave a Reply

